In Memory of Jeanette 15 June 2008

If I had not met Jeanette in 1988 my life would have taken a different course.  I am certain that any other course would not find me in a better place in time and space than I am today.  I honor her memory and spirit and all that she has given me with gratitude today.  Since her passing I continue to have the deepest gratitude to all who continue to shape the joy of my life.  They are all gifts to me as she was.

It is truly others that have shaped the course of my life, not me alone.  I have only been exceptionally fortunate in finding such people.  We all influence the course of each other.

Near the end of each of my my many travel adventures I choose a certain time and place to represent the end of the journey that I will always remember.  Boarding the plane is not it!

There is one more day of biking left.  We are returning tomorrow on the same route out of Bordeaux.  Today while riding on a country road with views that could be a montage of the entire trip I saw a single cluster of poppies among the green at the side of the road.  Happy thoughts of Jeanette and other special people in my life were on my mind.  I rode back to take a picture.  I spent some time admiring the view.  No cars passed.  Bird songs filled the air. That is how this journey ended before the travel was actually over.


Maybe I will add more blog entries….maybe not…

Leave a comment